Seven Irish novels up for Dublin literary honour
2016-12-01 15:53:03 -
By Staff Reporter

Seven Irish novels are among 147 titles nominated by libraries worldwide for the International Dublin Literary Award.
Formerly known as the Impac prize, the €100,000 award is the world’s most valuable for a single work of fiction published in English.
Organised by Dublin City Council, the award promotes Dublin globally as a literary destination, and Irish writing internationally, as well as promoting international fiction to Irish readers.
“Like every year, readers will find new books and new authors through the award,” said Dublin Lord Mayor Brendan Carr, patron of the award, “and they can pit themselves against the international panel of judges and pick their own favourite novel before I announce the winner on 21 June next year. ”
The Irish nominees for the 2017 award are The Blue Guitar by John Banville, Beatlebone by Kevin Barry, Spill Simmer Falter Wither by Sara Baume, The Green Road by Anne Enright, The Little Red Chairs by Edna O’Brien, Miss Emily by Nuala O’Connor and Asking For It by Louise O’Neill.
Nominations include 43 novels in translation, along with works by 43 American, 23 British, 14 Canadian, 10 Australian, five New Zealander and four Dutch authors.
Kate Atkinson’s Costa Prize-winning A God In Ruins received the most nominations this year, chosen by nine libraries worldwide, while other lauded nominees include Man Booker Prize winner The Sellout by Paul Beatty, and the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen.
The 2017 judging panel comprises Chris Morash, Seamus Heaney Professor of Irish Writing and vice provost of Trinity College Dublin; critic, editor and broadcaster Ellah Allfrey; translator, critic and essayist Katy Derbyshire; poet and writer Kapka Kassabova, and writer, critic and translator Jaume Subirana. Eugene R Sullivan returns as the non-voting chair.
All nominees are listed online at and are available for readers to borrow from Dublin’s public libraries. 
The shortlist will be published on 11 April 2017.
TAGS : Irish Novels Dublin Literary Honour Lord Mayor Brendan Prize winning Nominees
Other Entertainment News
Most Read
Most Commented